Furthermore, criminal charges may also be filed if the victim of the bite believes the owner is purposefully keeping a vicious or dangerous dog. A claim like this requires a history of aggressive behaviors. These behaviors include a dog biting a person unprovoked, a dog killing or injuring a domestic animal twice in the past 36 months, or a dog attacking an individual that causes that individual to defend him or herself twice in the past 36 months. Criminal charges may also be filed in cases of dogfighting.
Oakland Dog Owners are responsible for keeping their animals under control. It doesn’t matter if you’re at Grover-Shafter, Jefferson Square, or shopping for a new rawhide chew at a store. In most cases, if your dog attacks another person, you’re legally responsible for that attack. Read on to learn more about the law surrounding dog bites in Oaktown.
The best way to describe California Dog Bite Laws is
In California, the state law is found in the Cal. Civil Code section 3342. Check out Section 16.
“Animal attacks or injuries. If a dog or other animal, without provocation, attacks, attempts to attack, or injures any person who is peaceably conducting himself or herself in any place where he or she may lawfully be, the owner of such dog or another animal is liable in civil damages to such person for the full amount of the injury proximately caused thereby.”
We want to help you get what you deserve in your time of need. Click the button to the right or call today to schedule your consultation!Free Consultation
In many states, there is a law that is referred to as the "one-bite law" that states a dog owner isn't liable for the first bite. In some states for a dog bite to be considered actionable you have to be bitten two or more times. This is not the case in California due to the "Strict Liability Law". Owners are responsible for any damages caused by their animal with few exceptions.